A small-group leader has three ways to get work done:

  1. Do it by yourself.
  2. Boss everyone else around.
  3. Work in team.

    Working as a team means getting the best from every team member. You get their minds, their bodies, and their hearts. They are passionate because they have been given ownership. As their input is given, received, and utilized, even the most backward person begins to feel good about themselves and the group. My problem has always been trying to do “it” all by myself. Although my intentions, at least I think, have been honorable, I have realized that this approach cheats members from being a part of something bigger. (And, I’ve concluded, it’ll flat wear you out.) The magic word for small groups here is “invitation.” Good leaders extend the invitation that God has given us to join Him in His redemptive mission.

